A pdf version of this document is available here.

Call for papers

The SIGCOMM 2005 Conference seeks papers describing significant research contributions to the field of computer and data communication networks. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Network, transport, and application-layer protocols
  • Networking issues for Web, multimedia, and gaming applications
  • Routing, switching, and addressing
  • Resource management, quality of service, and signaling
  • Operating system and other host support for networking
  • Wireless, mobile, ad-hoc, and sensor networks
  • Network management and traffic engineering
  • Experimental and measurement results from operational networks
  • Network fault-tolerance and reliability, debugging, and troubleshooting
  • Peer-to-peer, overlay, and content distribution networks
  • Analysis and design of network architectures and algorithms
  • Tools and techniques for network measurement and simulation
  • Network security, vulnerability, and defenses
  • Fundamental insights into network and traffic characteristics

SIGCOMM is a selective conference where papers discuss novel results, designs, or architectural paradigms typically substantiated by implementation, experimentation, analysis or simulation. Paper formatting and submission instructions will be posted on the SIGCOMM 2005 web site.

As in previous years, SIGCOMM 2005 will have a poster session and a student travel grant program. SIGCOMM 2005 will also feature tutorials and workshops for which it is soliciting proposals. Details will be posted on the conference web site as they become available.

Workshop/Tutorial ProposalsFriday October 15, 2004
Paper registration/abstractMonday January 31, 2005 (Required, hard deadline)
Paper submissionMonday February 7, 2005 (Hard deadline)
Paper notificationSaturday April 30, 2005
Camera-ready papersFriday June 17, 2005


The SIGCOMM 2005 Conference includes a Student Paper Award and a SIGCOMM Award recognizing lifetime contributions. Procedures for nominating candidates for the SIGCOMM Award can be obtained from Mark Crovella crovella@cs.bu.edu.

Organization Committee

General Chair Roch Guerin University of Pennsylvania
Program Chairs Ramesh Govindan University of Southern California
Greg Minshall Unaffiliated
Conference Coordinator Joe Touch USC/Information Sciences Institute
Local Organization Chairs Jaudelice C. de Oliveira Drexel University
Honghui Lu University of Pennsylvania
Poster Chair Michalis Faloutsos University of California, Riverside
Publications and Publicity Chair Saswati Sarkar University of Pennsylvania
Registration Chair Andreas Terzis Johns Hopkins University
Student Travel Grants Chair Subhabrata Sen AT&T Labs-Research
Treasurer Christos Papadopoulos University of Southern California
Tutorial Chair Debanjan Saha IBM Research
Web Chair Steven Weber Drexel University
Workshop Chair Dimitrios Stiliadis Lucent, Bell Labs

Program Committee

Steve BellovinColumbia University Dina KatabiMIT
Robert BradenUSC/ISI Eddie KohlerUC Los Angeles
Kenjiro ChoInternet Initiative, Japan Balachander KrishnamurthyAT&T Labs-Research
Jon CrowcroftUniv. of Cambridge T.V. LakshmanLucent, Bell Labs
Bruce DavieCisco Bruce MaggsCMU
Richard DravesMicrosoft Research Jeff MogulHP Labs
Anja FeldmannTU, Muenchen Jitendra PadhyeMicrosoft Research
Peter HoneymanUniv. of Michigan Ion StoicaUC Berkeley
Larry HustonIntel Research Geoffrey M. VoelkerUC San Diego
Hui ZhangCMU John WroclawskiMIT

  Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!