graphicHomeAdvance ProgramAward Anniversary EventCall for PapersConference CommitteeLocal InformationPaper SubmissionProgram committeeRegistrationStudent Travel AwardsTutorialgraphic Sigcomm logoSigcomm'99


Tutorials | Schedule At a Glance

TUESDAY, 31 AUGUST 4:00 p.m.­10:00 p.m.

Lifetime Achievement Award Anniversary Celebration
Sanders Theatre and Annenberg Memorial Hall
Harvard University

The ACM SIGCOMM Award is presented annually to a person whose work represents both a significant contribution to the field and a substantial influence on the work and perceptions of others in the field. Ten years ago, the first award was presented to Paul Baran.

To celebrate the anniversary, all of the past award winners will participate in a panel discussion, moderated by Bob Metcalfe, that will take place in Harvard's historic Sanders Theatre during the opening reception on Tuesday evening. This is a rare opportunity for the SIGCOMM community to encounter the assembled thoughts and opinions of 12 of its most experienced and respected members.

The panelists will be: Paul Baran, Vint Cerf, Dave Clark, Dave Farber, Sandy Fraser, Paul Green, Bob Kahn, Len Kleinrock, Louis Pouzin, Larry Roberts, and Hubert Zimmerman.

The opening reception will begin at 4:00 p.m. in Annenberg Memorial Hall.

The Opening Event and the Award Anniversary Panel Discussion will take place in the adjacent Sanders Theatre from 5:15p.m. to 7:45p.m..

At 8:00p.m., dinner will be served in Annenberg Memorial Hall. Registered conference attendees may purchase additional tickets to the event for $75.


9:00 a.m.­10:15 a.m.
Opening Session

Introductory Remarks: Lyman Chapin, Guru Parulkar, and Craig Partridge.

Presentation of Best Student Paper Award: This year's Best Student Paper Award goes to Suchitra Raman for A Model, Analysis, and Protocol Framework for Soft State-Based Communication.

Presentation of 1999 SIGCOMM Award and Keynote Address: The SIGCOMM Chairman will present the 1999 ACM SIGCOMM Award to Peter Kirstein, recognizing his contributions to the practical understanding of large-scale networks through the deployment of international testbeds. Peter will deliver the Conference Keynote Address, Research on Networks versus Networks for Research: The Need for International, Internet, Testbeds.

10:45 a.m.­12:15 p.m.
Session 1 Protocols: Modeling and Implementation

A Readable TCP in the Prolac Protocol Language, Eddie Kohler, M. Frans Kaashoek, and David R. Montgomery, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

A Model, Analysis, and Protocol Framework for Soft State-Based Communication, Suchitra Raman and Steven McCanne, University of California at Berkeley.

The Impact of Multicast Layering on Network Fairness, Dan Rubenstein, Jim Kurose, and Don Towsley, University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

1:45 p.m.­3:15 p.m.
Session 2 Multicast

Scaling of Multicast Trees: Comments on the Chuang-Sirbu Scaling Law, Graham Phillips, USC/ISI; Scott Shenker, ACIRI/ICSI; and Hongsuda Tangmunarunkit, USC/ISI.

KHIP - A Scalable Protocol for Secure Multicast Routing, Clay Shields and J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves, University of California at Santa Cruz.

IP Multicast Channels: EXPRESS Support for Large-Scale Single-Source Applications, Hugh W. Holbrook and David R. Cheriton, Stanford University.

3:45 p.m.­5:15 p.m.
Session 3 Differentiated Services

Providing Guaranteed Services Without Per Flow Management, Ion Stoica and Hui Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University.

A Flexible Model for Resource Management in Virtual Private Networks, N.G. Duffield, Pawan Goyal, Albert Greenberg, Partho Mishra, K.K. Ramakrishnan, and Jacobus E. Van der Merwe, AT&T Labs­Research.

Proportional Differentiated Services: Delay Differentiation and Packet Scheduling, Constantinos Dovrolis, University of Wisconsin at Madison; Dimitrios Stiliadis, Bell Labs; and Parameswaran Ramanathan, University of Wisconsin at Madison.

5:15 p.m.­6:15 p.m.
SIGCOMM Annual Business Meeting


9:00 a.m.­10:30 a.m.

Session 4 Packet Classification and Filtering

BPF+: Exploiting Global Data-Flow Optimization in a Generalized Packet Filter Architecture, Andrew Begel, Steven McCanne, and Susan L. Graham, University of California at Berkeley.

Packet Classification Using Tuple Space Search, V. Srinivasan, Subhash Suri, and George Varghese, Washington University.

Packet Classification on Multiple Fields, Pankaj Gupta and Nick McKeown, Stanford University.

11:00 a.m.­12:30 p.m.
Session 5 New Research

This session is devoted to very short talks on new and exciting research ideas. Persons interested in speaking in this session should send a copy of their presentation slides (limited to four) to the session coordinator, email Craig Partridge, by 1 August.

2:00 p.m.­3:30 p.m.
Session 6 Applications and Middleware

A Scalable Web Cache Consistency Architecture, Haobo Yu, USC/ISI; Lee Breslau, AT&T Labs­Research; and Scott Shenker, ACIRI/ICSI.

An Integrated Congestion Management Architecture for Internet Hosts, Hari Balakrishnan and Hariharan Rahul, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Srinivasan Seshan, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center.

Quality Adaptation for Congestion Controlled Video Playback over the Internet, Reza Rejaie, USC/ISI; Mark Handley, ACIRI/ICSI; and Deborah Estrin, USC/ISI.

4:00 p.m.­5:30 p.m.
Session 7 Routing

Routing with a Clue, Anat Bremler-Barr, Yehuda Afek, and Sariel Har-Peled, Tel-Aviv University.

Load-Sensitive Routing of Long-Lived IP Flows, Anees Shaikh, University of Michigan; Jennifer Rexford, AT&T Labs-Research; and Kang G. Shin, University of Michigan.

A Simple Approximation to Minimum-Delay Routing, Srinivas Vutukury and J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves, University of California at Santa Cruz.

5:30 p.m.­7:00 p.m.
Outrageous Opinions - A Social Session

The tradition of the Outrageous Opinions session began in Boston at the 1995 conference. The OO session is the home of politically incorrect, wildly indefensible, and otherwise untenured remarks.

Please see the Call for Outrageous Opinions for more information on how to participate. This year's winner will receive a really cool prize.

A sample from last year's conference is here.

The winning presentations from this year's Outrageous Opinions session, are now available at


9:00 a.m.­10:30 a.m.

Session 8
Network Topology and Path Characterization

Using pathchar to Estimate Internet Link Characteristics, Allen B. Downey, Colby College.

On Power-Law Relationships of the Internet Topology, Michalis Faloutsos, University of California at Riverside; Petros Faloutsos, University of Toronto; and Christos Faloutsos, Carnegie Mellon University.

On Estimating End-to-End Network Path Properties, Mark Allman, NASA Glenn Research Center; and Vern Paxson, ACIRI/ICSI and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

11:00 a.m.­12:30 p.m.
Session 9 Network Analysis

An Analysis of BGP Convergence Properties, Timothy G. Griffin and Gordon Wilfong, Bell Labs.

The End-to-End Effects of Internet Path Selection, Stefan Savage, Andy Collins, Eric Hoffman, John Snell, and Tom Anderson, University of Washington.

Dynamics of IP Traffic: A Study of the Role of Variability and the Impact of Control, Anja Feldmann, Anna C. Gilbert, AT&T Labs-Research; Polly Huang, USC/ISI; and Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs­Research.

Tutorials | Schedule At a Glance