graphicHomeAdvance ProgramAward Anniversary EventCall for PapersConference CommitteeLocal InformationPaper SubmissionProgram committeeRegistrationStudent Travel AwardsTutorialgraphic Sigcomm logoSigcomm'99


Date: Tuesday, 31 August 1999

Opening Reception
4:00 p.m.
Annenberg Memorial Hall

Opening Event & Award Anniversary Panel Discussion
5:15p.m. to 7:45p.m.
Sanders Theatre adjacent to Annenberg Memorial Hall

Annenberg Memorial Hall

Registered conference attendees may purchase additional tickets to the event for $75.

The ACM SIGCOMM Award , created in 1989, is presented annually to a person whose work represents both a significant contribution to the field and a substantial influence on the work and perceptions of others in the field. Ten years ago, the first award was presented to Paul Baran.

To celebrate the tenth anniversary, all of the past award winners will participate in a panel discussion, moderated by Bob Metcalfe, that will take place in Harvard's historic Sanders Theatre during the opening reception on Tuesday evening. This is a rare opportunity for the SIGCOMM community to encounter the assembled thoughts and opinions of 11 of its most experienced and respected members.

The panelists will be:

Paul Baran

Vinton G. Cerf

David Clark

David J. Farber

Alexander (Sandy) Fraser

Paul E.Green, Jr.

Robert Kahn

Leonard Kleinrock

Louis Pouzin

Lawrence G. Roberts

Hubert Zimmermann