Internet Measurement Conference 2006
Sponsored by ACM SIGCOMM and in cooperation with USENIX
October 25-27, 2006
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The Sixth Internet Measurement Conference is a two and a half day event focusing on Internet measurement and analysis, building on the success of past IMCs. We invite submissions of papers that contribute to our understanding of how to collect or analyze Internet measurements, or give insight into Internet structure and behavior. Examples of relevant topics are:

Papers that do not in some fashion rely on measuring Internet properties are out of scope. Authors can contact the Program Chair at for clarification if they are unsure whether their paper is in scope.

Submission Guidelines
There are two forms of submissions:

  1. Full papers (up to 14 two-column pages) describing original research, with succinctness appropriate to the topics and themes they discuss.
  2. Short papers (up to 6 two-column pages), conveying, for example, work that is less mature but shows promise, or that articulate a high-level vision, describe challenging future directions, or critiquing current measurement wisdom. Short papers will be subject to a 6-page limit in the Proceedings.
Submissions must be in electronic form, as Postscript or PDF documents. The submission must conform to the page limits stated above, and the main text body must be written in a 10-point (or larger) serif font. All manuscripts must be in English. Submissions that do not comply with these requirements will not be read. Please refer to the detailed submission instructions for more information.

All full papers and short papers accepted for presentation will be published in the Conference Proceedings produced by USENIX. A few accepted papers may be forwarded for fast-track submission to the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking.

Important dates

To encourage broader data sharing in the community, the conference will present a best paper award for the top paper that makes it's data sets publically available by the time of camera ready submission. or example, wireless-network data sets may be published through CRAWDAD. Authors that would like their paper to be considered for this award should add a footnote on the first page of their submission.

A limited number of travel grants may be available to students who are unable to secure funding from their advisors.

Program Committee:

Sharad Agarwal, Microsoft Resaerch, USA
Mark Allman, ICIR, USA
Jussara Almeida, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
David Andersen - Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Martin Arlitt, HP Labs/University of Calgary, Canada
Paul Barford, University of Wisconsin, USA (PC Chair)
Cristian Estan, University of Wisconsin, USA
Nick Feamster, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Timur Friedman, Universita Pierre et Mari Curie, France
Albert Greenberg, AT&T Labs - Research, USA
Steve Gribble, University of Washington, USA
Tim Griffin, University of Cambridge, UK
kc claffy, CAIDA, USA
Gianluca Innaccone, Intel Research, Cambridge, UK
Farnam Jahanian, University of Michigan, USA
Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA
Dina Katabi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Erich Nahum, IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Craig Partridge, BBN, USA
Jitendra Padhye, Microsoft Research, USA
Alex Snoeren, University of California, San Diego, USA
Neil Spring, University of Maryland, USA
Renata Teixeira, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, France
Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs - Research, USA
Ellen Zegura, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Zhi-Li Zhang - University of Minnesota, USA
Lixia Zhang - University of California, Los Angeles, USA

IMC Steering Committee:

Mark Crovella, Boston University
Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina
Bruce Maggs, Carnegie Mellon University/Akamai Technologies
Nina Taft, Intel Research, Berkeley

Local Arrangements Chairs:

Jussara Almeida, Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG)
Virgilio Almeida, Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG)

Technical Support:

Joel Sommers, University of Wisconsin